h1

“Playing” and Driving

November 27, 2011

So, we are now bidding November farewell and this means that the holidays are officially in full swing.  I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving and as we head into this Christmas season there are going to be tons of people getting new gadgets that they want to play with.  Unfortunately, these new gadgets come with an increased desire to “play” behind the wheel.

As I learned from your commentary of my last post (and recent conversations), there are many of you that feel that texting and driving is “technically” wrong.  So why, if it is so wrong and unsafe, do we still feed the urge to play behind the wheel?  I believe that it has much to do with the fact that we have become an instant gratification society.  For example, we WANT the newest game system, so we go out and buy it.  If we don’t have the money, that’s okay because there is always the handy-dandy credit card that we can pay later.  Our interaction with each other has become much the same.  If we send someone a text asking a question, we expect a semi-immediate response.  This instant gratification mentality is the reason that many allow convenience to trump safety when it comes to “playing” behind the wheel.

Part of the reason that I keep using the word “playing” instead of simply texting is because I noticed a man playing “words with friends” (while driving) over the weekend.  Are you kidding me?  Now we are not only texting and driving but we are now playing and driving.  Friends, I have a challenge for you this holiday season; make a New Year’s resolution to keep your gadgets out of the driver seat.  If you often lack self control, then put your phone in the trunk during your errand running.  If your issue with texting and driving is that you simply don’t think it’s wrong, then do us all a favor and have a date with youtube.  Watch some of the many videos where people are texting and driving.  Many of them think that they have full control of their vehicle until it is simply too late.  I wish all of you a safe and happy holiday season!  And of course Happy Blogging.

2 comments

  1. This is so true. I am very tempted to respond to a simple text just because the answer could be a short “yes” or “no” rather than a long paragraph. Unfortunately, I do use my phone while I’m driving, but only for GPS reasons in case I don’t know where to go. I will be getting a new phone for Christmas, and I will definitely consider making a new resolution to keep myself from texting while I’m driving.


  2. Hey JoAnne, I don’t know if you have read my latest blog, but the Feds are now under pressure to pass legislation banning texting and driving. I agree that it is so tempting to drop that quick line. I am even guilty of dropping a quick “K” or “OMW” but I am trying so hard to stick to my personal challenge. I find myself handing the phone off to my girls now more than ever before. I am not sure if my texting has increased or if I used to text and drive more than I even realized. The GPS is the next thing that I need to tackle. I am awful about using that thing while driving. I never set it until I am already in motion and for the life of me I never pull over.



Leave a Reply

