h1

Transl8it!

October 9, 2011

Well, there is hope for all of you (us) that are not fluent in text speak.  I have found a website that is similar to an English to Spanish translator. Now, if you are in a situation where you need to find out what in the world your latest text message actually says, you can simply type it (or just cut and paste it if you use a smart phone) into the translator and it will become common English at the touch of  a button.  This is good news for all of us that are trying to keep up with this new (hopefully fad) lingo.

I can faintly hear my father’s voice saying, “Are you kidding me?” as I give you the alternative use for this site.  And even though I am struggling to come up with a logical reason as to why this is needed, you can also translate English into text speak.  Call me traditional and old fashioned, but don’t you have to have a concept of the English language before you can translate into text speak?  This is not a situation of being bilingual, but rather another version of English shorthand.  Therefore, you could take any language and create that language’s version of text speak.  So here is my hang-up on the whole situation–shorthand was created with a productive purpose (ex: it allows people to take detailed notes in a fast paced situation).  If all we are essentially doing is using shorthand, then why don’t we just use shorthand?  With my soapbox aside, I thought it would be remiss to discover this site and not try it.

Check out this “challenge” below to see how it works.

“Hey guys I am offering up a challenge.  Instead of just leaving a comment this week, use this translator and post your comment accompanied by the text speak of your comment.  It is quite simple.  Type your comment and then cut and paste it into the “tranl8it!” box at this link http://transl8it.com/.  After you have translated it cut and paste the text speak of your comment along with your original message and post it.  If nothing else, this is interesting.”

The paragraph above translates into this:

“hA guys I M offering ^ a chaLenG.  insted of jst lEvN a comment DIS week, uz DIS transl8r & post yor comment accompanied by d txt spk of yor comment.  It iz quite simpl.  typ yor comment & thN cut & paste it in2 d tranl8it! bawx @ d Lnk http://transl8it.com/.  aftR U hav transL8d it cut & paste d txt spk of yor comment along w yor orignL msg & post it.  f Nuttin else, DIS iz intRStN.”

3 comments

  1. gr8 post! I don’t knO Y I’d eva uz DIS o rly Y SOME1 wud wnt 2 go Thru aL d trouble of translating a perfectly gud msg in2 txt speak, bt U R right, DIS iz interesting!


  2. Wow, DIS iz quite interesting! wen I 1st Bgan txtN bout 10 years ago, i alwys Usd d “short” lingo, bt az I’ve gotten older & realized d impotans of grammar nowadays, I’ve tried 2 txt mo properly. & d websIt iz interesting, howevR, I c%d nevr imagine myself txtN lIk this??

    Wow, this is quite interesting! When I first began texting about 10 years ago, i ALWAYS used the “short” lingo, but as I’ve gotten older and realized the importance of grammar nowadays, I’ve tried to text more properly. And the website is interesting, however, I could never imagine myself texting like this??


  3. I jst wnt 2 knO wot DIS transl8n wud cum out 2. How did U find DIS website?



Leave a Reply

