h1

Text Speak Part 2

October 1, 2011

Hello out there in blog word.  Happy October to all of you.  As promised in my previous blog, I am going to give you what I feel is the most accurate and concise list of “text speak” available on the web today. In my latest blog post titled ,”Text Speak Part 1″, I used netlingo.com for reference, however for the all inclusive list I prefer “Talktalk” out of the United Kingdom.  As someone that lived there (the UK) for three years, I will be the first to admit that  there are circumstances when you can get yourself into trouble crossing common American slang with English (British) slang. However, I have looked through this list and there are very few acronyms that are not commonalities in the US.

http://www.talktalk.co.uk/community/textspeak-p1.html

Let me know your thoughts.  I looked through dozens of sights and I feel that this one is a more realistic list of what we may you use in our common conversations.  I also cross referenced these lists and this one seemed to have the most common repeats on other lists.  I feel that this is important in case your recipient isn’t familiar with an acronym that you use, you want them to be able to go online and easily figure out what you are saying.  On the flip side to that, you also want the most common phrases so that you can translate your text at a glace.

Although I feel that this is much like learning a new language, it will become much easier the more often that you use it.  I tried it out on an aqaintance of mine this week that often sends texts in shorthand/text speak.  She said that I actually over used the acronyns and that you need to have some “normal, common langauge” mixed in with the text speak as most people do not memorize the list of the many acronyms but instead it is more like looking for context clues.  For example, “ABT2 go 2 the store. BRB. DGA.”  She says that even though she can glance at “about” and “be right back” she would might have to think a second before figuring out “don’t go anywhere” which is why she says reading things in context is important when using text speak.

Try it out this week and let me know how it goes.  This is common speak for many in high school but I am interested in seeing where the age line is.  Is it possible that in the next 5-10 years that this will be common language in informal business memos?

4 comments

  1. Interesting post! I feel that some of the acronyms are over the top and I would never use them in my life. I text often so maybe I’m just “over the age” of the teenage “texter” who would use these often. What did you find in your research was the cut off age for this type of language?


  2. Although text speak is much more common in the current generation, it is more of a mentality than an age limit issue. In my research I found that the average monthly text usage was 1,299 for “common texters” ages 18-24, but that number more than doubles for teens under 18. According to Neilson, nearly 42% of daily text users use text speak, so if you look at these stats together, I think it is safe to assume that this is a current teen phenomenon. The question remains, at what age are people punting this habit, if ever?


  3. I can’t believe I actually guessed it right when I was reading. I dont think that the text language will be a part of the business language. This is common for social life, I think, and not the business side of things. At least not that in depth of language.


  4. Although I was not a teenager that long ago. I rarely used acronyms. The ones I probably used the most was “brb” or “ttyl,” other than that, I would usually text the entire word or phrase. I guess I’ve just never been the one to text acronyms. I’ve also used phones with a QWERTY keyboard for the past four years, so there really isn’t a reason for me to have to use acronyms. I have a feeling that acronyms are mainly used by those who have phones without a QWERTY keyboard.



Leave a Reply

