h1

TextSpeak:Part 1

September 26, 2011

One of my colleagues has requested that we go ahead and start talking about textspeak.  I was planning on discussing it when I introduced you to the secret world of teen texting, but I do actually believe that there is enough to go ahead and give you a little taste of it now.  Instead of posting once this week, I am actually going to post several times so that we all get a good lesson in what is going on in today’s abbreviated, synonym filled world of textspeak.

“Netlingo” claims to have the largest list of text speak available on the web today, and although I do not agree with this claim, I do appreciate their list of numerical text speak abbreviations.  Although there is an entire world of this new “lingo”,  here is the beginning.  I have no intention of taking another sources list and attaching it for you day after day, week after week.  However the numerical part of the list is quite original and I feel that is is worthy of it’s own blog “spot.”

  • 02 Your (or my) two cents worth, also seen as m.02
  • 10Q thank you
  • 1174 Nude club
  • 121 One to one
  • 1337 Elite -or- leet -or- L337
  • 143 I love you
  • 1432 I Love You Too
  • 14AA41 One for All and All for One
  • 182 I hate you
  • 19 hand
  • 20 Location
  • 2B or not 2B To Be Or Not To Be
  • 2b@ To Be At
  • 2BZ4UQT Too Busy For You Cutey
  • 2G2B4G Too Good To Be Forgotten
  • 2G2BT Too Good To Be True
  • 2moro Tomorrow
  • 2nite Tonight
  • 2U2 To You Too
  • 303 Mom
  • 404 I haven’t a clue
  • 411 Information
  • 420 Marijuana
  • 459 I love you
  • 4COL For Crying Out Loud
  • 4EAE  ForEver And Ever
  • 4eva forever
  • 4ever Forever
  • 4NR Foreigner
  • 4Q F*** You
  • 511 Too much information
  • 53X Sex
  • 5FS 5 Finger Salute
  • 8 Oral sex
  • 831 I Love You
  • 86 Out of, over, to get rid of, or kicked out
  • 9 Parent is watching
  • 99 Parent is no longer watching
  • ::poof:: I’m gone
  • heart

And just wait for the next list, it will blow your mind!

6 comments

  1. I’ve never even heard of most of these. Maybe I’m already to old (being 26) to know these? Parents have to be extremely diligent now in order to stay on top of what there kids are doing and exposed too. I do not look forward to when my daughters are old enough to be exposed to this stuff.


    • I completely agree but there is a slight piece of good news. My daughter is in 5th grade and both she and most of her friends carry cell phones. I have NEVER seen a text that had anything more than “lol” or “ttyl”. Now my children’s babysitter that is a senior is a completely different story. I have to go to an online reference to find out what she is saying more often than I have to go to a Spanish to English dictionary to understand our foreign exchange student from Nicaragua.


  2. wow, is this what the world is coming to? I have no idea these existed. To be using numbers as codes for something? That is just crazy.


    • Unfortunately for most of us in this class we are at a disadvantage when it comes to this issue. However I think we are almost better for not knowing. Although I agree that “knowledge is power,” I think in this situation it’s more like, “ignorance is bliss.”


  3. For teenagers, I guess this is pretty intelligent, however, I didn’t know texting could get so serious to the point where they have to text in code. I was a teenager not that long ago, and I remember we used to write letters and speak in code. I thought texting was secretive enough, but I guess not?


  4. I remember in junior high when our notes to our friends had little “codes” in them. I guess this is this generation’s equivalent of passing a note in class. Instead of the adrenaline rush of passing a note across the room, it’s now the challenge of sneaking a text in the middle of math.



Leave a Reply

