h1

Technology is Changing, Keep Up or Quit.

September 3, 2011

Hello out there in blog world.  My name is Kimberly Ellgass and you can learn anything and everything “me” by clicking on the “all about me” tab,  but for now I am ready to get this show on the road.  As many of my readers know, this blog is being birthed out of an assignment in a Business Communication class, but in reality I have every intention of this blog far outliving the semester in which it is being created.  Quite frankly, each and every one of you (at least on some level) will be used to collect data for a much larger purpose.  My ultimate goal is to write a theory based thesis on the lack of inflection in text messaging.  I already have a theory created in the deep hallows of my brain, but quite honestly getting my thoughts onto paper is in its infancy.   So welcome to the blog world of any and all things “text”.

Although my thesis will be incredibly focused, this blog will be an open door into the world of texting and into the minds of texters.  We will have crazy fun weeks when we talk about new textspeak or emoticons, but then there will be weeks when we tackle tough (and sometimes controversial) issues such as texting and driving and “sext”ing.  Please feel free to send me your ideas that you would like to see discussed.  I intend to be an open book.  I invite and encourage you to leave your comments and feedback as well.  I have no desire to write a blog spilling my deep feelings about texting (or anything else for that matter).   With that being said, I do not promise that you will not see some crazy rants about people texting at red lights or the idiot in the red sports car that almost killed me while I was loading groceries.  There will be times that we agree with one another and times that we can’t stand each other.  This is exactly what I want from this site, a place where we can talk about these issues in an open forum.

So I look forward to hearing from all of you.  I am not sure how often I will post as I do not want to force an entry my mind is not ready for just because I have made a commitment to the calendar.  For those of you that already know me, I could write on an entire topic and then turn right around that same afternoon and start fresh again.  I will promise this however, for the time being, it is safe to assume that you will see one blog per week.  If you see more, consider it a bonus.

There is one more thing that we need to cover before we get underway… Although I would not consider myself prudish, I do have a couple of rules that may seem that way.  First and foremost, this blog is open to many people, so I am asking you to keep a lid on your language and your innuendos (this may be difficult when we start talking about “sext”ing, but we will burn that bridge later).  The second rule is that there may be sometimes where we disagree with one another, but I am asking that we foster an environment of mutual respect.  I will be as honest and candid as I can be, but there are simply going to be times that I contradict myself or say something that you may totally disagree with.  The final rule that I have (I promise) is that I do not care where you stand on any political issue.  Whether you are a democratic or a republican, have green, red or purple skin, or are married or not has no bearing on your texting abilities or opinions.

So my friends welcome…happy blogging…happy texting and I look forward to getting to know each and every one of you.

11 comments

  1. Texting is such an ingrained part of our culture now, I look forward to seeing your take on the issues that surround this hot button issue!


    • It should be interesting. My goal is to gather followers and speak freely without offending anyone. I am a texter, but some people take it way too far.


    • Absolutely and there are several “hot button” issues that I plan on tackling. Sometimes the blog may be something basic like new abbreviations (or acronyms) in the world of texting but I most definitely want to discuss things like texting and driving the likes. Happy Blogging.


  2. Hello! It is very nice to meet you Kimberly. I am very impressed with your topic about texting and I look forward to learning more about the dangers of driving and texting,”sexting,” and the texting language in general. I often text, but I would never text in a manner that would put myself or anyone else in danger. It will be very neat to see your examples and discussions. Talk to you soon!


    • Thank you, it’s nice to meet you too. I absolutely agree, although I am looking forward to digging deeper into textspeak and all the other fun stuff that comes with technology, in general, I don’t understand putting people’s lives at risk. Although this may be a bold statement, I believe that texting and driving is just as dangerous as drinking and driving.


    • It is so nice to meet you too. I am excited about the possibilities of where this blog could go. Ironically I am more interesting in the followers feedback than I am in what I am actually giving to the blog. I am not sure how common that is as I am new to the blogging world, but I soon shall find out.


  3. I am ecstatic to read your blog, especially because of this specific post. I know that it will be interesting, not only because of what your posts will say, but of what others will have to say. I admire your genuineness because you’re right, as humans, we are going to disagree on many topics. I am a part of the crowd who do love to text, but I do have my controversies, I can’t wait to discuss this in the future!


    • Hi Jo Anne, I look forward to hearing from you. I have a more “easy going” blog coming this week, but we will get deeper as the weeks progress on. Even though we are not required to read everyone’s blog, every week, I look forward to the rotation coming back around and catching up with each person. Enjoy hearing your commentary, this should be fun.


    • Thank you so much, I have enjoyed reading yours as well.


    • Oh you are so very kind. I hope to not disappoint.


  4. I’m glad you are writing about technology. There needs to be more knowledge about these changes in the world and people needs to be aware of the technology.



Leave a Reply

